RSS

Twitter or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Tweet.

30 Oct

I’ll admit it. I’m a public relations major and I didn’t like Twitter. Get the pitchforks! We must kill Frankenstein’s monster!

I didn’t understand the reason for using something that was nothing more, in my opinion, than a glorified Facebook status update system. I vehemently refused to use it and thought everyone was odd who did. After spending time in my COM 509 class though, I’ve begun to see the light. Twitter is more than just a status update system for people to keep me alerted to the food they are eating. I’ve begun to see the multiple ways people use Twitter to keep in contact with one another or the way it is utilized to spread news.

I joined this semester out of pure curiosity. I figured, if I’m going to not like something, I might as well know my enemy. So, I joined and began following a few celebrities and friends to get a feel for what the system was like. I can’t say I was impressed at first.  I thought it was too busy and I didn’t understand what was going on. So, I stopped using Twitter and let it fall by the wayside. I then realized that I was acting like a bull-headed dope, rather than a college student. I was afraid of change and going outside of my comfort zone. There was nothing wrong with the social network, there was something wrong with my perspective.I suffered from the excuse, “I have nothing interesting to say.”

Now if you were to look at my Twitter account, you can probably tell there hasn’t been a huge change in the amount of tweeting I do.

I’m working on it.

I’ve decided to take a new perspective and begin using Twitter with purpose rather than seeing it as an outlet for people’s current state of mind. The original use of Twitter was actually to make it easier for individuals at a business to have communication with one another. Therefore, I’m going to try to find a subject or an idea of what I want to do with my Twitter. It could be public relations (original, I know) or possibly something more hobby related. This subject has made me realize a fundamental lesson, that I needed to learn again, which is to push myself outside of my comfort zone. Even when it’s for something like Twitter.

 
 

2 responses to “Twitter or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Tweet.

  1. haeffele8

    November 4, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I joined Twitter about two and a half years ago because I knew nothing about it. I posted my first tweet in Spring 2009 and then never logged on again until probably a little over a year ago. If I didn’t have a smartphone, I probably wouldn’t tweet near as much but I do love Twitter – more than Facebook easily. I mostly use Twitter for posting and reading news, sharing links, pictures and videos, and following my sports teams. But I also like the random funny post about someone’s crazy day, or funny situations. I’m glad you have Twitter now though! Like you said, you are a PR major, so like other profession, there are some things we must do even if we don’t like them 😉

     
    • Two-way street PR

      November 5, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      I’m glad to hear someone went through a similar process with Twitter. It does serve as a perfect outlet for someone to post about their hilarious day and I enjoy the different shared links. It just took some time to figure that out. Thanks for your comment Megan.

       

Leave a Reply

 
