RSS

3 Ways to Defeat Writer’s Block

30 Oct

Suffering from writer’s block, while maintaining a blog for a class, is a bad thing for a PR student. Sadly, this happened to me last week. I stared at the screen for a half hour and had nothing. Zilch, nada, not one thing to say about PR or blogging. You can see on from this post, I eventually overcame my writer’s block and assembled my required posts on schedule. I can tell you though, at the time, I felt like I was trying to dig my way to China with my bare hands.

To avoid this in future, I decided I would write this post for those suffering from writer’s block and as a reminder to myself.

1. Don’t Stare at the Screen.

I’m horribly guilty of this. My mindset becomes, “I’m writing this post even it takes me all night!” Unfortunately, this is not a healthy mindset to take before trying to write an essay or blog post. I realize we all have deadlines, but I feel the most important thing to do when faced with this dilemma, is to walk away from the screen. I’m not recommending that you give up responsibility of writing the paper or post, but rather to take at least ten minutes to clear your head.

2. Free Write

I know this is lame, but I picked up this hint from the film “Finding Forrester”. When I feel stuck, I just start writing whatever is in my head. Even if it comes out gibberish, I at least know that it possible for me to still write. Doing this, typically, helps to clear my head of whatever I’m thinking about. I also see it as a means of stretching my mind for the process of writing.

3. Write in something else besides your laptop.

Writing an entire draft of work on paper has become something of a lost art to me. I don’t like it because I can’t immediately go back or erase what I’ve written. I’ve noticed though, by writing on paper or in a different location, it’s easier to get the words out . The writing may not be organized or neat, but it gives me something. I imagine this is a form of self-fulfilling prophecy.

I don’t mean for these tips to be an end all to your writer’s block problems. As with everything, the important step is finding what works best for you and moving forward.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in Blog, Public Relations

 

Leave a Reply

 
