RSS

Home Security Issues with Social Media

02 Oct

A report on Time.com says burglars are now regularly checking Twitter, Facebook and Foursquare to scope out potential houses to vandalize. There’s no need to immediately panic though, only 50 former burglars took part in the British survey. The author, Grame McMillian, says that many burglars also utilize Google Maps to get a better visual description of the house they would like to burglarize. The article does raise some interesting questions about the current use of social media in updating our location and giving out information.

This may sound like an old man talking, but it seems the general public use to worry about Big Brother constantly peeking over their shoulder. Now, people willingly give away their information over social media platforms without a second thought. I’m not saying that using social media means you no longer want privacy in your life or that I’m pointing fingers.  I’m as guilty as anyone of updating my location or personal information into the social media world. I also realize technology that shows our housing location or gives away personal information, such as Google Maps, is out of our control. I’m simply pointing out that this article draws attention to a fact about social media along with ideas about security.

We need to think about why we do things on social media platforms before we do them. I know this sounds simple, but many students and adults have yet to grasp how permanent information posted in the social media world is. In my opinion, I think people sometimes become so preoccupied with what we can do, with new social media technology, that we don’t take the time to stop and ask if we should.  In the PR field though, I understand  if you’re not on top of new and upcoming technology, you will be left in the dust. We need to find a way to strike a balance between utilizing the social media we know and experimenting with new technology.

Source: http://techland.time.com/2011/09/27/burglars-now-using-twitter-facebook-against-you/

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in Blog, Facebook, News, Social Media, Twitter

 

One response to “Home Security Issues with Social Media

  1. saramcclendon

    October 10, 2011 at 12:41 am

    I agree, Jordan! Great post! I am shocked about what some people will share over Facebook. I remember when I was in middle school and I got my first email address. My parents refused to let me use my first or last name in the address because they were concerned for my privacy. I absolutely agree that there is a balance between using social media and over-share!

     

Leave a Reply

 
